Dear President Biden,

As elected and appointed members of the Democratic National Committee and state party leaders from across the country, we write in strong support of the U.S. rejoining the Iran nuclear deal.

The landmark nonproliferation accord, formally known as the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), sealed off Iran's potential pathways to developing nuclear weapons, peacefully resolved the Iran nuclear crisis, and as a result, made America and the world safer.

The deal imposed the most intrusive and restrictive nuclear verification, monitoring, and inspection mechanisms ever negotiated. The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) consistently confirmed that the deal was working to prevent the risk of an Iranian nuclear weapon.

In May 2018, the Trump administration recklessly reneged on the Iran deal and pursued a so-called "maximum pressure" campaign to ostensibly reach a "better deal" with Iran. The only result has been a vastly expanded Iranian nuclear program, increased regional instability, near US-Iran war on multiple occasions, and severe economic sanctions that have contributed to a dire humanitarian crisis inside Iran. As a result, America's credibility has been severely damaged and its national security damaged. Trump's decision made America less safe.

We commend you for pledging to return to the JCPOA and for beginning a multilateral diplomatic process with other world powers to return all sides to compliance with the accord through the compliance-for-compliance formula. In that regard, the JCPOA is of such critical value to U.S. national security that the issue of who goes first should not become an obstacle. Moreover, lifting Trump's bad-faith sanctions - which he explicitly imposed on Iran in order to make a return to the JCPOA next-to-impossible - should not be treated as a concession to Iran, but rather as an effort to restore U.S. credibility and enhance American security.

We urge you not to cave to pressure from proponents of Trump's failed approach to Iran. We have seen the net effect of that policy: A larger Iranian nuclear program and a greater risk of war with Iran.

The Obama administration did not only prove that diplomacy with Iran works, it also proved that no other policy tool advances American security more effectively than diplomacy. We urge you to continue on this proven path of success.

Please contact Yasmine Taeb at <u>YasmineTaeb@gmail.com</u> with any questions or to discuss this issue further.

Sincerely,

Minnesota Attorney General Keith Ellison; DNC Deputy Chair (2017-2018)

Congresswoman Barbara Lee (CA-13)

Zahra Abbas, DNC Member, Michigan

Nadia B. Ahmad, DNC Member, Florida

Winston Apple, DNC Member, Missouri (2016-2020)

David Atkins, DNC Member, California; Regional Director, California Democratic Party

Evangeline M. Beechler, Chair, Idaho Democratic Party (2019-2021); Vice Chair, DNC LGBTQ Caucus (2017-2021)

Valdez Bravo, First Vice Chair, Oregon Democratic Party (2017-2019)

Jessica Sell Chambers, DNC Member, Wyoming

Howard Chou, Vice Chair, Colorado Democratic Party

Alan Clendenin, DNC Southern Caucus Chair

Larry Cohen, DNC Member-At-Large, Maryland; Board Chair, Our Revolution; Communications Workers of America President (2005-2015)

Joshua Cole, DNC Member, Virginia; Virginia State Delegate (HD-28)

Bart Dame, DNC Member, Hawaii

Michelle Deatrick, DNC Member, Michigan (2016-2020); Founding Chair, DNC Council on the Environment and Climate Crisis

Sean Dugar, DNC Member, California; Co-founder, California Young Democrats Black Caucus

Adrianne George, DNC Member, Democrats Abroad; Democrats Abroad Sweden Black Caucus Chair

Megan Ellyia Green, DNC Member, Missouri (2016-2020); 15th Ward Alderwoman, St. Louis Board of Aldermen

Elizabeth Guzman, DNC Member, Virginia; Virginia State Delegate (HD-31)

Daraka Larimore-Hall, Fmr. Vice Chair, California Democratic Party; Vice Chair of the California Democratic Party Labor Caucus

Mike Hamrick, DNC Member, Colorado (2016-2020)

Tim Jerman, Vermont DNC Committeeman; Vermont State Representative (2005-2017)

Michael Kapp, DNC Member, California; Chair, DNC Youth Council

Matt Keating, DNC Member, Oregon; Eugene City Councilor

Thomas Kennedy, DNC Member, Florida

Aaron Kruse, DNC Member, Democrats Abroad

Sandra Lowe, DNC Member, California

RL Miller, DNC Member, California; Co-founder, Climate Hawks Vote

Cliff Moone, DNC Member, North Carolina (2016-2020)

Radhika Nath, DNC Member, Colorado

Travis Nelson RN, DNC Member, Oregon; Western Director of the Democratic National Committee Black Caucus

Kylie Oversen, Chair, North Dakota Democratic-NPL (2015-2021)

Sanjay Patel, DNC Member, Florida

Khary Penebaker, DNC Member, Wisconsin; DNC Black Caucus Treasurer

Martha McDevitt Pugh, DNC Member, Democrats Abroad; Co-Chair, Democrats Abroad LGBTQ+ Caucus

Melahat Rafiei, DNC Member, California; California Democratic Party Secretary

Sen. Sheikh Rahman, DNC Member, Georgia (2016-2020); Georgia State Senator

Joseph Salazar, DNC Member, Colorado; Colorado State Representative District 31 (2013-2019)

Susie Shannon, DNC Member, California

Jeri Shepherd, DNC Member, Colorado

Tanya Shively, DNC Member, Oregon (2016-2020); Fmr Secretary, Democratic Party of Oregon

Joseph Smallhoover, DNC Member, Democrats Abroad

Kathryn Solon, Democrats Abroad DNC Member; Democrats Abroad International Chair (2013-2017)

Mary Sullivan, DNC Member, Vermont; Vermont State Representative

Yasmine Taeb, Virginia DNC Committeewoman (2016-2020)

Ted Terry, First Vice Chair, Georgia Democratic Party; Commissioner, DeKalb County (6th District); City of Clarkston Mayor (2014-2020)

Andre Treiber, DNC Member, Texas

Terry Tucker, DNC Member, Colorado (2016-2020)

Nina Turner, DNC Member, Ohio; Congressional candidate (OH-11); Ohio State Senator (2008-2014)

Tim Vandeveer, Chair, Hawaii Democratic Party (2016-2018)

John Verdejo, DNC Member, North Carolina; Treasurer, DNC Southern Caucus

Curtis Wylde, DNC Member, Missouri (2016-2020)

Elly Zaragoza, DNC Member, Minnesota (2016-2020)

*Affiliations noted for identification only